Posts

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) – What Tampa Drivers Should Know

Did you know that Florida is a no-fault state? This is an area that can cause a lot of confusion for drivers, especially if you’ve recently been in an accident. Our personal injury lawyers in Tampa understand the nuances and intricacies of Florida’s no-fault law and the Florida PIP statutes. If you’ve recently found yourself in this stressful situation, we are here to help.In this blog post, we are going to look at personal injury protection in Tampa and the critical areas that you should be aware of as a driver. While no one wants to find themselves facing the situation, this is information that could be extremely beneficial.

What Does PIP Stand For?

Right off the bat, let’s start off with discussing personal injury protection or PIP for short. You’ve probably already heard this term before, but do you really know what it means? personal injury protection is a type of no-fault insurance coverage. in the event of a car accident in Tampa, this insurance will cover your medical bills and any lost wages incurred as a result of your injuries. This is an extremely important form of insurance coverage if you are a driver here in Florida. unfortunately, not enough Florida drivers have a good understanding of PIP law.

What Is Covered By PIP in Tampa?

As mentioned earlier, personal injury protection in Florida will cover any medical costs, lost wages and death benefits resulting from a motor vehicle accident. In order to provide you with a complete understanding of PIP in Tampa, we are you going to take a closer look at each of these in more detail.

PIP Covers Medical Costs

Except for acupuncture, most medical costs that a driver will face only an accent are going to be covered by PIP. Or drivers in other states, their PIP will usually cover injuries sustained by anyone living in the driver’s household. however, in Florida drivers have the option use their PIP coverage for only themselves or other residents in their household. Tampa drivers can file a PIP claim for any of the following:

  • Surgery and hospital expenses

  • Medication

  • Medical consultations

  • Rehab fees

  • Diagnostic fees

Please note that personal injury protection in Florida will only cover 80% of the medical costs incurred as a result of a car accident up to a $10,000 limit. Additionally, if you are not considered to have an emergency medical condition, PIP coverage only entitles you to $2,500 worth of benefits.So what exactly does Florida law define as an emergency medical condition? This is any medical condition resulting from a car accident that requires immediate medical attention. Essentially, this means that the driver’s life would be in jeopardy if they do not receive medical attention.

Florida PIP and Economic Benefits

So what happens if you are disabled in a car accident in Tampa? How much of your lost wages will PIP cover? in Florida, PIP will pay for 60% of any lost wages incurred as a result of an accident up to a $10,000 limit. Please note that this also will cover normal activities that you cannot perform as a result of your injuries. This includes cleaning your home, taking care of any pets you own, doing daily chores, etc.

Death Benefits of Florida PIP

In the unfortunate event that a driver is killed in an accident in Tampa, their PIP policy would cover the cost for their funeral and burial. Any next of kin are entitled to $5,000 for death benefits.

PIP Limitations You Should Know About

Here is another important detail about personal injury protection in Tampa that we like our clients to know. If you have been injured in a car accident, your PIP benefits may only be awarded to you if you receive the appropriate medical treatment for your injuries within 2 weeks of the incident.As you might have guessed, $2,500 is not going to be enough to cover the cost of treating any type of serious injury. If you find yourself in a situation where your PIP benefits have been exhausted and you still face significant fees, this is where our Tampa personal injury attorneys can help. We can seek the appropriate compensation from the at-fault driver by filing a personal injury lawsuit.Please note the following limits when it comes to filing your PIP insurance claim:

  • Your PIP policy will not cover medical bills if you did not seek treatment within 14 days of the motor vehicle accident.

  • If you have been diagnosed with an “Emergency Medical Condition” after the accident, PIP will only provide coverage for follow-up services that are related to the injuries caused by the accident.

  • PIP does not cover massage or acupuncture therapy

What To Expect From Your Insurance Provider After Filing a PIP Claim

Typically, your pip insurance benefits are overdue if your insurance carrier has not paid them within 30 days following the receipt of your claim. That being said, and insurance carrier may have an additional 60 days if they plan to investigate the claim. In order to launch this investigation, your turn your would need to have a reasonable belief that fraud has been committed.If you are having issues with your insurance carrier following a car accident, our legal team in Tampa can help you. our attorneys have years of experience dealing with some of the biggest insurance carriers in Florida, and we can make sure that you receive all the PIP benefits you require in a timely fashion.

What is a Letter of Protection?

If you are incurring medical fees before receiving your PIP benefits, a treating physician may request a letter of protection. This is essentially a contract that stipulates these unpaid medical expenses will be covered once your insurance claim has been paid.Our personal injury attorneys recommend that you keep a detailed list of all your out-of-pocket expenses following a car accident. For instance, let’s look at what your insurance provider will require in order to reimburse you for a prescription that you need for pain. you’ll need to provide them with the original receipt for the prescription as well as the label that has been attached to the outside of the prescription bag.

Are pedestrian and bicyclists covered under PIP in Tampa?

Here’s an interesting question our personal injury attorneys have received in the past. The short answer that we always give is it depends on whether they own a car. Here’s why:

  • A pedestrian or bicyclist that’s in an accident and who owns a car will be covered by their PIP policy.

  • If the pedestrian or bicyclist doesn’t own a car, but resides with a relative that does, then they are still going to be covered under their relative’s policy.

  • In the event that a pedestrian does not own a car, nor do they live with a relative who does, then they would be covered by the at-fault driver’s insurance.

Can PIP Cover Chiropractic Care in Tampa?

Under the Florida PIP statute, a car accident victim can receive initial care and services from a chiropractor and have that be covered by PIP. In Tampa, medical services from the following providers are covered by PIP:

  • Medical doctors

  • Chiropractors

  • Doctors of osteopathic medicine

  • Hospitals

  • EMS services

Conclusion

We hope that this blog post has provided you with a much deeper understanding of personal injury protection PIP here in Tampa. if you have any additional questions, or you were recently the victim of an accident, then please do not hesitate to contact us. our team of personal injury attorneys in Tampa can help you receive the compensation that you deserve. Please call us today at [number] to schedule a consultation or fill out the contact form.

What Should You Do Right After a Car Accident?

Did you know that over 6 million car accidents occur each year in the United States? According to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Department, an estimated 200,000 car accidents are recorded in Florida each year. This averages out to around 650 crashes each day.Here at Busciglio, Sheridan & Schoeb, our Tampa personal injury attorneys have helped many car accident victims in Tampa. If you were recently in an automobile accident, there are specific actions you can take to protect yourself and your interests.

1) Don’t Drive Away

If you have been involved in an automobile collision, one of the worst things that you can do is drive away from the scene of the accident. Ask any personal injury attorney in Tampa or St Petersburg, and they’ll tell you the same thing. You should not drive away from the scene the scene, even if it’s a minor accident.

2) Take Action to Prevent Further Accidents

Following the accident, we recommend putting on your emergency flashers. This type of action can help prevent further accidents and injuries. If the collision occurred at night, we also recommend keeping your lights on so other drivers on the road can easily spot you. If your lights were damaged during the car accident, you can also use your flashlight on a smartphone in order to signal other drivers.If you have been injured during the accident, then please wait in your car until help arrives.

3) Call the Police ASAP

Following a car accident one of the first things you should do is call the police. This is recommended even if no serious injuries have occurred. Depending on your car insurance policy, a police report may be needed in order to file a claim. The only reason that any of the vehicles involved in the accident should be moved vehicle is if they are interfering with traffic.

4) Try to be Accurate

Once the police arrived on the scene they are going to going to speak to you about what happened. To the best of your ability, tell the investigating officer exactly what happened. This includes mentioning that you might not know certain things. This is not a time to speculate, guess or misstate facts.If the investigating officer asks if you’ve been injured and you’re not sure, tell them that you aren’t sure instead of saying no. It is not uncommon for an injury sustained during a car accident to present itself hours after the point of impact. If a statement is taken from another passenger in the vehicle, it should corroborate your own statement.

5) Take Pictures If You Can

Do you own a smartphone or do you carry a camera often? If there is visible damage to your vehicle and you have the ability to do so, we recommend that you take pictures of the scene of the automobile accident. We also recommend that you take pictures of any visible injuries sustained if you have the faculties do so. Please do not risk additional harm to yourself in order to take these pictures if you sustained a serious injury during the accident.Once police are on the scene you should not interfere with their investigation in order to get a picture. If you are unable to take a few pictures at the scene of the accident, try to take some of the vehicle as soon as possible afterwards.

6) Get Pertinent Contact Information

Normally this is not something you’re going to have to worry about doing if police are able to respond to the scene of the car accident. That being said, if the authorities are not involved, we do recommend that you obtain the name, address and telephone number of all people involved in the accident. This includes all passengers in addition to the drivers. During this process, you should also request to see the insurance card for each driver.Did someone witness the car accident? We recommend that you get their contact information as well. Your personal injury attorney may need to contact them about the accent.The police will provide all people involved in the accident with a report number that they can use if they have additional questions about the automobile accident. This is the number that you are going to use in order to obtain the police report at a later time. Please note that if your accident occurred on the highway, you are going to need to obtain the report from the state police.

7) Notify Your Insurance Provider ASAP

The next thing you need to do is notify your insurance company about your car accident. Most car insurance policies require immediate recording of the incident and full cooperation on your part. If you are injured in an automobile accident, you may be wondering whether your insurance will cover your medical expenses. This is a good question.Florida is one of the 12 states that require some level personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. this type of insurance is a no-fault coverage, meaning that even if you were at fault for the accident, any medical expenses incurred by you and your passengers would be covered up to the policy’s limit. PIP can also be used to cover lost wages and rehabilitation services.In Florida specifically, PIP insurance will typically cover 80% of your medical bills and 60% of lost wages, up to a limit of $10,000. In any case, this is not something that you want to wait until after an accident to be sure of. We recommend that you contact your insurance provider now and ask them about your PIP coverage for your car insurance policy.

8) See a Doctor Immediately

A lot of injuries sustained during an automobile accident are not immediately apparent to the victim. many of our personal injury clients in Tampa report feeling the pain after a day or even two following the accident. While you may not need to rush off to the emergency room, we do recommend that you make an appointment with your preferred physician even if you are certain you were not injured.Even minor car accidents can result in very serious and life-threatening injuries. So please be safe and talk to your doctor after this type of incident.

9) Keep a Detailed Record of the Accident

An automobile accident results in a lot of paperwork. As personal injury attorneys, we recommend that you keep all your accident-related documents and information in a secure place. Here are some of the more important details that you should have in your records:

  • Your insurance claim number

  • The name of the claims adjuster that is handling your claim

  • Contact information for all people involved in the car accident (including witnesses if there were any)

  • Receipts for any expenses incurred as a result of the automobile accident (rental car, etc)

10) Talk with a Personal Injury Attorney in Tampa

If you have been in a car accident in Tampa, we recommend that you consult with a personal injury attorney. Our legal team can protect your rights and make sure valuable evidence is not lost following the accident. As we mentioned before, you are going to need to make that claim with your insurance provider shortly after this incident has occurred. We recommend obtaining that legal council before making the claim.A personal injury attorney can advise you on a variety of critical issues following an automobile accident. From how to make sure you’re receiving the best medical attention to making sure you’re fully compensated for this type of incident. Remember that as personal injury attorneys, we operate on a contingency fee basis. What does this mean for you? There aren’t any legal fees to pay unless we are able to get you the compensation you are seeking.